Notices

codeine abuse

Old 03-13-2009, 08:39 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

codeine abuse

hi
im new here and i would be grateful of some help,i am at the moment addicted to prescribed 30mls co codomal,i also take codeien phospahte and over the counter pills,i take on a good day 20+ pills a day,i have been doing for many yrs,before this is was addicted to other drugs and when i got off the other drugs i turned to alcohol,i stopped the alcohol(binges) about 3 yrs ago and since then i have been self medicating.
i need to stop,i need to stop now and i would be so grateful for any words of encouragement,i am going tohave to go cold turkey because the taper plan as already failed with me,i have prepared myself,i have paid my bills off for the next 4 wks,i have tied up all loose ends so that i can concentate fully on the c/t any stress wd only make me want to take the pills again,it seems that i cannot live in reality at all at the moment,i am so struggling and i am so afraid all of the time,i do not go over the doorstep,i dont answer my phone and i jump at the slightest thing. please help
x:praying
Old 03-13-2009, 08:44 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,

I'm glad that you found us!

Have you talked to your dr and asked for his advice as to how to get off the pills?

Hopefully others will be along who can give you more advice.
Old 03-13-2009, 09:48 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR!!

You are definitely not alone. If you check out the substance abuse forum, I know of two people who have recently gone through the same thing....lostbutterfly (I think her thread is called codeinechroniclespart 2) and emmer. Both are in early recovery, but are great people and would love to share their ES&H (experience, strength & hope).

No matter what we are addicted to, there are a lot of people here with a lot of support.

Hugs and prayers!

Amy
Old 03-13-2009, 11:32 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Live it

I understand completely