Alcohol and pot addiction

Old 03-02-2009, 06:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Alcohol and pot addiction

Hi everyone
I'm a newbie and haven't posted in a while, perhaps partly because I don't really want to face the reality of my situation. Since I posted just over a year ago it's gotten worse. My husband of 21 years has been smoking pot since he was 14. He's 47 now and smokes daily. He also seems to struggle with alcohol addiction. He doesn't drink everyday but when he does, often drinks to the point of obnoxiousness. He has promised to give up the booze many times, usually after an embarrassing episode but, usual story, it never happens.

In the past year or so, he has had many episodes of strange behaviour. He rants and raves about little things, hates the world and everything in it, thinks everyone is out to get him, and talks about suicide. At my insistence he has gone to the doc and is now on antidepressants. They seem to be useless. We have grown apart. I have trouble handling his behaviour and he accuses me of showing him no love. It's a vicious cycle.