Hello, I'm a newbie

Old 02-20-2009, 02:12 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello, I'm a newbie

Hello everyone,
I am the parent of an adult son with an addiction to cocaine. He is also in trouble with the law now and on 3 yrs probation. He is going to counseling and classes but every so often he is still falling off the wagon. He is now trying to get into rehab because if he doesn't they will put out a warrant for his arrest and provoke his bail!
My son came from a good home with loving parents and 2 wonderful supportive sisters! We have done everything we could to stand by him and support him to the fullest! I especially am at my wit's end being his Mother and still feeling the need to protect him and keep him safe. It's taking it's toll on me, they're are days I cry constantly and can't get out of bed or even function. I am frightened to death. The thought of him being sent to prison is terrifying me. I don't think I can deal with it!
I am so glad I found this site, hoping it gives me the support I need to get through this terrible nightmare!
Old 02-20-2009, 02:24 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome! And I hope you stay active... this is a great place to get CORRECT information on how to handle the addicts in our lives. I'll warn you now, it won't be easy. It'll be TOUGH! But if you're tenacious, you'll see results.
Old 02-20-2009, 03:08 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR! I hope that you will read the stickies at the top & other posts. Lots of parents of adult addicts here, me included. My daughters DOC (drug of choice) is crack. She has been on probation, still is, has gone to jail, has gone to rehab. The absolute best thing you can do is learn the 3 c's
you didn't cause it
you can't control it
you can't cure it