so i'm new here...

Old 02-16-2009, 08:44 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Red face so i'm new here...

Hello all. I'm a 28 year old artist. My boyfriend of 10 months is an alcoholic and currently in rehab. I'm mainly here to find out the best ways to support him in his time of need. Once he gets out, I'm going to encourage him to join this site as well. He's one week sober and has officially joined AA. I couldn't be more proud.
Let me know if you have any tips on good books to read or things I could do to best support him. Tips on what not to do are welcome as well. Thank you for your time.
-Nixx
Old 02-16-2009, 09:40 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Ann
Nature Girl

Welcome, Nixx, glad you found us.

Something that would help you more than you know, is finding a meeting for yourself and begin working a program that will help you keep your balance no matter how his recovery is coming. Alanon, Naranon and CoDA and three similar fellowships that many of us have found to be real lifesavers.

I am happy for both of you that he is in rehab but have to add that nothing you do or don't do will keep him sober, only he can do that and this rehab and AA will give him the tools to help when the going gets rough.

Stick around, others will be along to welcome you, and walk with us a while on our journey.

Hugs
Old 02-16-2009, 02:50 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
the girl can't help it

(((((nixx)))))

Welcome to Sober Recovery. My 2 cents is take care of you and keep the focus on yourself. Let him manage his own recovery. I send you good thoughts.
Old 02-16-2009, 08:08 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome - He's getting the tools he needs while at rehab, so now is a great time for you to do the same. Reading here and finding Alanon or Naranon meetings is a wonderful start.
Old 02-16-2009, 08:40 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Southern through and through

Hey Nixx,

So glad you've found SoberRecovery. There is great information here, so I hope you'll stick around.