Notices

How to trust

Old 02-12-2009, 08:42 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How to trust

I want to thank everyone for their support lately, I am still not doing so well, but I imagine things will get better after after my DUI case is over and done with, it has been causing me some stress lately, for a while it wasnt. When I get stressed some times it causes me to throw up, and then that just triggers my old bulimic tendencies. I just cant seem to be be healthy no matter what I do. But I have not been drinking.

Ive been isolating a long time and now that I am being forced to re-enter society (going to court, AA meetings, trying to find money) I am having a hard time adjusting and old feelings that caused me to isolate are coming back full force.

Im not too good at expressing my feelings so Ill just say: I dont trust people at all. Therapists have not helped, being around people has never helped. I always feel that people around me are always waiting for a chance to harm me or take advantage of me. And it occured to me recently that so-called "safe" places can never be proven as such. What is the difference between people in AA and people anywhere else? If I get a sponsor, how can I expect her to treat me well?

I've considered lately to start going back to church, but again, the same thing applies.

Im sorry for such a negative post, and I do not wish to say that AA or church is bad, they are good for many people. I just wanted to get this off my chest. Thanks.
Old 02-12-2009, 08:49 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Retired Pro Drunk

You have some valid concerns I think.

For me, recovery meant taking risks. I had to just lay myself out there and take a chance. It's hard. One of the places I've found this to be easiest has been with my AA people. It took my a while, but I figured out that they are exactly the same as me. Same fears, same defects, same everything. Change a few faces and places in any alcoholics story and it's the same as mine.