My story - don't know what to expect

Old 01-27-2009, 09:09 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My story - don't know what to expect

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here, have posted on a few threads but haven't started my own to share my story. I feel that I need some support right about now.

We met in school 13 years ago and it was party time all the time. I think back then he did control it. But it wasn't an issue for either of us. Fast forward to 2001 when we married. This is when my own drinking began to moderate, and 'inklings' of the problem started to happen. We still had a rich social life but more often I'd be the one taking him home in a drunken state. Among his friends he was always the drunkest guy, but everyone would laugh it off. But it started to bug me. Always the life of the party. Always too drunk by the end of the night. But it still wasn't a huge issue...yet.

After we moved into our house in 2004, it started to really bother me and I started voicing it. I started to grow up. And he kept doing the same thing. Many of his friends were still in that same mindset and there was always stuff going on every weekend. He did start to go out less, but when he did, he's still go way too far. He tried a few group therapy sessions that failed. We have a 15 month old daughter, and it was still the same thing - but because he went out less, he'd drink alone at home.