Notices

I'm a 57 yo newbie

Old 01-23-2009, 07:23 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm a 57 yo newbie

Really new at this, especially admitting I have a problem. Heck I'm an old pro at quiting...just not admitting! This is day six and the cravings are much better, but the mood swings are getting worse...any advice?
Old 01-23-2009, 07:30 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Nice to meet you. This is also my 1st day finding this site & a place to hopefully learn more about my addiction, & how to beat it.

This is day 2 1/2 for me. TONIGHT will be very hard for me. As Hubby drinks & we usually watch moives & play games with the kids on Friday nights, and I have no clue the last time I did that with out a drink.

Bless you, I will keep you in my prayers.

~jules
Old 01-23-2009, 07:34 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Resident

Welcome Dern. You are my senior in age but not by much just a couple of years. It took us longer than most to get it through our thick heads that drinking aint groovy. You will get a lot of support here. I know this is going to sound ridiculous but I get a lot of relief from the emotions I am feeling by coming here and reading and posting. Maybe it is because I am a 2 finger typer and I have to concentrate on my typing or maybe it is something else: not really sure.

Come join us in the class of January where most of us post daily.
Good luck on your quest.
Old 01-23-2009, 07:38 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

My experience with mood swings was that the best thing for me to do was be as gentle with myself as necesssary. Ask for what you need from family and friends...whether you need a little space or someone around to cheer you up. Quitting is hard, and you have to put yourself and your needs first for a while to the bumps smooth out a bit.

Glad you are here!
Old 01-23-2009, 07:38 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Liverpool 19

Originally Posted by Derntootin View Post