I could really use some help right now.

Old 01-19-2009, 12:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I could really use some help right now.

As many of you know I am a recovering addict for 3 plus years. I have a history of serious medical issues that are too long to even begin to list. My doctor knows of my addiction problems too. But taking narcotics for pain is part of my treatment sometimes. My doctor put me on percocet this past year in August. He has been weening me off of it as its not been helping. I am off the percocet as of 2 days now. I flushed the rest too. I was hospitalized the week before xmas and was hospitalized again this past week. Im a frequent resident at my local hospital. He tested my urine when they admitted me and it didnt even show up! Now how can that be?!? I swear I was taking the percocet! Strange that an addict has to swear that I was even taking it. I dont think he believes me.

Anyway he put me on 600mg of neurontin and 75mg of Lyrica and 40mg of paxil. Ugh I feel so lethargic. I have absolutely no energy to move or get off the couch, BUT BY GOODNESS, the pain is gone for the most part! YAYAYAY!

So my questions are these: Is any of these habit forming and is anyone else taking these medications. I really want to know how you feel being on these medications. Or if anyone has any info would be greatly appreciated.
Old 01-19-2009, 12:45 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

((GwenMarie))

I don't know about the Lyrica..I've heard it can be very helpful for some people (like with fibromyalgia) and others it didn't help. I've taken the neurontin and it does make you sleepy but works GREAT for nerve pain and I will take it over narcotics when my sciatic pain flares up in my back. The paxil is an anti-d, so though it's not something that you'd normally have to worry about being "addicted" to, you don't want to stop it without your dr's advice, either, because some anti-d's need to be tapered.