Notices

Hello! I'm recovering from opiate addiction but...

Old 01-16-2009, 12:34 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello! I'm recovering from opiate addiction but...

Hello all! I'm a junior undergrad psychology major. I've loved opiates since I was first given them after surgery in middle school. I quickly realized I could find more of the same pills in various places at home. I began stealing meds that had been prescribed up to 40 years ago for my parents. Since then I've been fascinated by drugs of all kinds, by changing my subjective experience of life. For a while I limited myself to marijuana and hallucinogens... it became my form of religion - I was so innocent and naive. Then last summer I realized I could attain opiates with a click of a button. That became the beginning of a 6-month long twice-daily lifestyle change. I lost all of my friends - not because they knew about what I was doing, but because I stopped needing social interactions. I've experienced withdrawal twice. Most recently, it was my 21st birthday/new years/christmas gift to myself. I haven't used opiates in 15 days, but now I'm relying on alcohol to get through each day. People use the term day-to-day living, but to me, living is a minute-to-minute (or second-to-second) constant struggle. Alcohol helps. I thought alcohol would be an acceptable solution to my problem with opiates, but now I'm wondering if I would be better off on opiates. I love being able to help others, but I have a terrible time accepting or expecting it from others. I saw a therapist yesterday and it felt nice to speak openly about my problems. I've always been able to hide my problems from my family and friends, so no one knows about my problem. I'm very excited to become a part of this community and I look forward to getting to know you who have been through similar situations. sooo... yeah. I hope this post isn't too annoyingly long.
Old 01-16-2009, 12:46 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
let it grow!