Notices

I'm brand new to this and very afraid to quit....

Old 12-25-2008, 06:51 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm brand new to this and very afraid to quit....

Hi everyone. I don't know what led me to this site, but I'm glad to be here. I'm a middle age woman who is a former model and still attractive....but drinking is taking it's toll with my personality, weight, finances, etc...
I keep it all together...by the skin of my teeth and know that NOW is the time to do something positive. I'm SO SCARED to quit drinking cause it's all I've known in my social life and I'm so afraid I won't be "loose" enough to have fun if I don't drink. My husband and I entertain alot and I feel that I'm a boring person without alcohol in me.
Can anyone give me some first baby steps to help me?
Old 12-25-2008, 07:06 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Ending the Old Me.

Welcome Hippychicky!

Originally Posted by hippychicky View Post
You've already taken a bunch of baby steps.

Your concerned enough about your drinking that you found this website.
You've recognized and don't like the affects that drinking is having in your life.
You had the courage to post here.
And the biggest of all - your asking for help.

Congratulations! Your making progress already. Please stick around, just keep reading and posting and good things will happen.
Old 12-25-2008, 07:07 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi hippychicky!

I'm so glad that you were lead here to SR. Welcome. It's always baby steps when we first get sober, no matter our age or circumstances. I think it is such a relief when we know that we're not alone and that there are so many wonderful people who are ready to support us. It's just the beginning of a journey that has so many rewards. That's been my experience so far.

Take your time and stroll around the place. There are many good and interesting reads in the various stickies located at the top of the various headings.

Post as much as you want, as often as you want.

And a late Merry Christmas/holiday to you.