Help...advice

Old 12-24-2008, 06:23 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Help...advice

OK giving a brief summary of my life growing up:

Mom & dad both alcoholics, they divorced when I was 4.
Dad married another woman who became a mother to me, when my mother was never there, and i lived with dad up until i graduated highschool.
My stepmom wanted to divorce my father months after she married him because he hid his drinking until they were married..but she stayed around even when she didnt have to, because she wanted me to be safe.

Grandma= dads mom... is the enabler. When my father and me would get in fights because of his drinking, my grandma would say my father was not a drunk and he is a good father and i need to respect him and would tell me Im the one who needed help.

anyways dad and stepmom are divorced and my father HATES my biological mother and my Ex stepmom. He has so much anger for them
So anytime i go to his house he brings up how much he hates them and how much i should hate him as well. That i should be on his side.

I am very close with my biological mother now, as she does not drink anymore, and i am still very close to my ex stepmom as she was a mother to me and will always be, so to here him talk negative about them pisses me off
-
YESTERDAY: went to dads to enjoy a nice day with him. I am now 24 and married and dad and i have finally come to terms on how to handle each other and just be nice, but of course he was drunk at 1:00pm and the first things out of his mouth were about how he has treated me so good and has been the best father to me growing up and that i dont need to love my mom or stepmom more than him.
and i tried to explain to him that i can love all of my parents, that i dont need to chose sides.

and i know you dont get anywhere talking to a drunk but i finally had enough and let out my anger-