Notices

First post and one week under my belt!

Old 12-19-2008, 11:37 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

First post and one week under my belt!

Hi, all.

I'm grateful that these forums exist, first and foremost. Here's to the administrators, moderators and dedicated community members for making it so.

I've been substance-free for a week now and while I have my moments ... I am beginning to love not imbibing. Drinking (and consequently blacking out) really took a toll on me, and having just ended a live-in relationship that, in hind-sight, moved along too fast for too many reasons that weren't valid, the two coupled, and a really nasty mode of thinking couldn't seem to stop emerging. Removing the bottle(s) and the person in question from the situation seems to make this path much easier, and I feel it's the one I'm meant to be on. There's much work to be done, but this has been coming for a very long time. This is my first attempt, my first acknowledgment of substance-abuse/major behavioral issues and the first time in a long time I've been proud of myself.

I am also working on anger issues, because when I blacked out, I was not a nice girl. When I am conscious and sober, I am quite the people-pleaser, albeit with a fairly short fuse. The Serenity Prayer is working wonders for me.

I love reading, working out, making music, listening to music, philosophy , languages, various trivia and music theory.

As such, I imagine I'll spend quite a bit of time in the most appropriate forums (largely Special-Interest Groups) at this point in my life and in my recovery, but I wanted to say hi to and thank everybody here for their honesty and integrity.

Thanks!
Old 12-19-2008, 11:41 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
I'm just a little unwell

Hi Yay!

Welcome to SR and congrats on your first week! You sound really good. I like your positive attitude. I look forward to reading more of your posts and following your progress.

TSH
Old 12-20-2008, 02:03 AM
  # 3 (permalink)