Confused & Lost w/ boyfriends use of drugs...

Old 12-15-2008, 01:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Confused & Lost w/ boyfriends use of drugs...

This is my first time posting. I'm not sure what led me here, but i'm hoping that i do receive the answers if not the guidance of what to do or where to go... first of, a bit about my background. i am 32 mother of two boys, one 8 and one 15. i was married to my high school sweetheart for 10 years, were together for 15 years. i filed for divorce last year, after realizing that his addiction had hurt the marriage along with his drinking. He had an addiction, that would lead him to leave for days, empty out the bank account, never call, he would just dissappear until he was broke, tired and hungry. this went on for 9 years, and it would happen at first every 3-4 months, then it was every 2 months. he missed birthdays for the boys, our anniversary, i was once robbed at gunpoint, and needed him to come pick me up, but he wouldnt answer his phone because he was wired, of all days i needed him he was there. then my oldest was arrested for having pot at school one day, and sure enough he wasnt there to help me get through it and pick up our son from juevenile that day. so i went to alanon realized that i could do nothing to change him, and then i one day snapped, asked that he leave the house, and i filed for divorce. our separation was very rocky, he was threatning, breaking stuff, lying, refusing to see the boys, it was hard, but i got through it and the divorce was finalized. i must say that i was the hardest 15 years of my life. fast forward to 1 year later. i met my boyfriend back in august, didnt start talking/dating till september and ever since then its been a whirlwind of a romance. until i realized he was using as well. when i first found out he was using, i confronted him and he had already known my story with the ex and how i had to leave that situation, and he said he would stop and that he didnt want to lose what w