Notices

Grow up or die, eh? (Newbie introduction)

Old 10-22-2008, 09:55 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
A few paces before Step One

Talking Grow up or die, eh? (Newbie introduction)

Hi, family. I've been reading through these forums for a while now. The information, support and the extent to which I can relate to the journeys is beyond amazing.

I am 31. Looking back at things in true honesty, I've been using since 2002. The details are irrelevant.

Today is Day 54 of sobriety. I'm ahead of the curve in getting 90 in 90 with NA. I've got a great sponsor that kicks my arse and loves to see me change. I'm currently not even to Step One and have been studying and interpreting the NA Symbol. I've also gotten a dictionary and have learned that I didn't know what some words meant!

I was spiritually dead until this recovery began, a total about-face from what I'd tell people while I was using. Praying and meditation have brought me coincidences, answers and plenty of overwhelming emotions and insight into whatever it is I need at the time. It wouldn't be any fun if it were easy, right?

I've noticed that people look older than I remember. I laugh out loud at all of the Adult Swim and Family Guy shows that just used to keep me somewhat amused. Music sounds much more amazing.

I wouldn't call this a pink cloud. This has been hurting just as much as it's been freeing. I'm an educated fool who can complicate things.

As my sponsor says: "Don't go upstairs unsupervised!"

At any rate, I look forward to interacting with you all and to build a network of folks where we can build together as shoulders to lean on, ears to lend and hands to hold.

Thank you, family, and thank you to the God of my understanding. I promise I'll get out of my head and surrender soon!
Old 10-22-2008, 10:05 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome! You're in good company, lots of support and experience here!

Love,

Lenina
Old 10-22-2008, 10:13 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome
Old 10-22-2008, 10:16 PM