Notices

Alcoholism/Blackouts:The Science

Old 10-18-2008, 03:49 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Lead weight lifted

Alcoholism/Blackouts:The Science

For privacy sake, I won't say much about my past, but I will say that I have a degree in Bio-Chem. Many of you appear to have questions about your alcoholism, relapses, and blackouts.

Alcoholism-heavy drinking promotes increases of CRF(corticotropin releasing factor) and decreases dopomine.This causes a chemical imbalance, stress, and depression. This imbalance triggers your brain to try to think alcohol will fix the imbalance. You know how some people get an allergic reaction and your body responds with histamines because it thinks that will fix the reaction, but it actually makes you worse. It's kinda the same thing, your body is basically trying to do something to obtain balance, but it's wrong!! I hope that helps you a bit.

Blackouts- simply put, the hippocampus in your brain is responsible for memory formation. Heavy,mostly fast intakes of alcohol leads to non-firing of CA1 pyramidal neurons in the hippocampus. If these neurons stop firing, then you make no new memories. This is why you can still walk and talk, but have no memory. You cerebrum regulates your ability to walk and talk, but without the hippocampus, you won't remember anything until you alcohol levels recede.

I hope this helps all you who wonder if your blackouts are normal as an alcoholic. By the way, if you are one of those puzzle piece memory people, the condition is called( alcohol induced fragmentary blackout)

P.S. I had to go find my textbooks to get this info, it wasn't just something I remembered, but I'm sure the internet could tell you the same stuff

One more note: Blackouts, usually mean you are in the advanced stages of alcoholism, so if you are blacking out, you could be in trouble with liver shut down, pancreas, kidney, and brain damage.

I started blacking out, and I now know my alcoholism has to stop immediately.
Old 10-18-2008, 04:03 PM