Reality Bites

Old 09-15-2008, 10:40 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Reality Bites

Doesn't it sometimes? I've been reading blessed4x's thread about getting over and dealing with the grief of ending a marriage. I am dealing with the same thing and can't say I'm an expert. STBXAH left a year ago, and I've been thinking about what has happened over the past year and have to admit most of the time I don't feel that much better- I'm filled with sadness. I KNOW divorce is something I have to do- for my sanity and for the health of dd who I can't imagine would thrive in our home the way we were living when AH was with us- chaos. HOWEVER- even though I am sad- there are times when reality steps in just in time to pick me up and get me moving again. . .

Yesterday I was talking to my sister and mentioned I hadn't heard anything about STBXAH's girlfriend- a woman he works with and had an emotional affair with before he moved out. All weekend I had been down in the dumps- feeling nostalgic. . . DD was with him all afternoon, so I think I was lonely as well. When she came home it took her a few hours to finally tell me she had been shopping with dad AND his girlfriend. She was upset. In fact- she found out her dad was planning to meet the girlfriend at the mall with dd, and dd threw a fit. She is 10- I can't imagine how stressed out she was, but she told me she tried to get his phone so she could call me to come get her, she cried, yelled at him- this is a kid who is pretty quiet. She also asked him for a quarter when they walked by some pay phones so she could call me. Again- he would not let her. I have told her that whenever she was with STBXAH- or anyone else, wherever and whenever- she could always call me if she wanted to come home. Well- guess that wasn't the case yesterday. Breaks my heart.