Exhaustedwife

Old 09-09-2008, 07:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Exhaustedwife

Just wanted to say hello. I'm new to this and hope someone can shed some light on my situation. My husband is a crack addict and was clean 8 yrs. before we were married. We've been together 3 years now and to my surprise he relapsed Nov. last year. He did go into a program and stopped for maybe 2 months if, I don't even know now. But, he's using again. Still goes to his meetings yet still using and I'm ready to leave. What not because he's still using because I was and am willing to stick by him but because he's starting to be mean and treating me bad. I feel as though I'm going crazy just trying to deal with this now. Please any advice

Last edited by exhaustedwife; 09-09-2008 at 07:11 PM. Reason: didn't use spell check
Old 09-09-2008, 07:16 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
jnj

I'm sooo sorry for what you're going through...I'm not sure I even know what to say....except...have you talked to him and is he admitting it or denying? Is he open to check himself in somewhere? You have to take care of yourself as well...maybe he needs something drastic ( you leaving) to get himself help...I have alot of friends who I was in rehab with last year and they are still drinking or worse...but I try to encourage them but they're not ready to stop....he has to be ready....or have an ultimatum or get arrested/ go to the hospital/ lose his job/ you...etc..you know what I mean....I don't know....but maybe you need to leave and be there after he gets help...but you can't lose yourself and get hurt along the way....good luck...hopefully someone has better insight...
Hugs!
Old 09-09-2008, 07:39 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Sending my prayers to you in this hard situation. Addicts normally don't treat others very well because the disease has them focused on their drug of choice. I agree with jnj - it is important that you take care of yourself.