Where it all began......

Old 09-08-2008, 03:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Where it all began......

I posted over on the ACOA forum about trying to develop a healthy relationship with my mom. I got a couple of really insightful responses over there, but now I’m having some AHA’s that belong here, I think.

Apologies in advance for what’s likely to be a really long post.

It all started last week when I received a letter in the mail from my mom. She apparently resorted to writing the old-fashioned way because I have been distancing myself from her for the past 2-3 years. This year, the only contact we have had has been two phone conversations. I told myself that I just couldn’t be in contact with her because her attitudes/beliefs/way of life were frustrating and annoying to me. She is and always has been extremely codependent and since I started recovery, I see it more clearly than ever.

Anyway, this letter from her got me thinking that maybe part of my healing might be attempting to establish a healthy relationship with my mother. (I know, WHAT was I thinking, lol.) So, I posted over on ACOA and realized no matter how annoying she is, she believes she is doing the right thing, and who am I to take her inventory. So, with all my recovery tools in hand, I sent her an email. In it, I acknowledged my admiration for the good things she has done, including going to court and getting legal custody of my niece and nephew after my brother beat his wife nearly to death, ended up in jail, and the abused wife skipped town. I let her know that I understood how hard it must be for her, raising two small children at an age when she should be kicking back and enjoying life.