Notices

Trial Separation

Old 09-01-2008, 12:27 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Drying out

Trial Separation

OK, the term trial separation sounds serious, but my fiancee/partner and I have decided to give it a go, on the grounds that absence makes the heart grow fonder. During the period that I was abusing alcohol, I lied to her many times, again and again to try to disguise my problem. I have never lied to her in the past, I guess it was the sickness taking hold and warping my own reality. the end result is that she can not trust me, for all she knows I could still be on the sauce and telling her that I'm not. So we have decided to have a little time apart and get back to some kind of dating scene like the old days so we can get to know each other again.... But, my question is: Is this a good idea? I mean, I have never done this before and I am now appealing to the members of this forum for your kind advice. We have been together nearly 6 years and have lived together for 5. We have a two and a half year old child together and we are both desperately trying to salvage what is left of our relationship. Are we doing the right thing? :praying
Old 09-01-2008, 12:42 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

well in a issue of trust you have to rebuild it.i think that maybe time apart could help you grow and in that process you can build a real relationship thats built on real things. you have to know yourself sober to know who you really r.what you really like .what you dislike.if the love is strong and youre truely meant to be it will work out.relationships are work...4 a common goal.in early recovery you may not know what you like or dislike yet.thats y they tell you 2 wait a year.just take it 1 day at a time right now.and get some meetings,meetings,meetings. welcome!
Old 09-01-2008, 12:49 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi there,