Notices

Newbie here

Old 08-23-2008, 09:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie here

Hi all

I have had a hard time dealing with my addiction lately.You see I don't need to drink and
smoke on weekdays but when the weekend comes I really have a hard time staying sober.I only smoke cigarettes
when I drink.So I drink so that I can smoke cigarettes (Stupid I know),and then I drink and smoke A LOT.I've 'quit' smoking cigarettes for almost a year now,but
the last 10 or so weekends this has been happening.I'd drink and smoke when Friday comes and the next day I would tell myself that I'm done,until next weekend.
Two weeks ago I promised my wife that I'm quitting drinking,until last night all was well,obviously I've failed.I don't need to drink everyday.
I can't remember when last I had a drink on a weekday.
I then convince myself that I don't have a problem.But when I drink
I can't stop.All the bad stuff I've done in my life happened when I was drunk.I had an Issue
with crack cocaine which I have been sober from for 2 years in September.But like other things
I only use to smoke crack when I got drunk.I have gone through a good patch the last year or so but recently I have started my old ways again.I have not used drugs
again but I fear that I'm loosing control again.Have any of you have similar experiences.And please,tell me that I have an drinking problem!

Many Thanks
Old 08-23-2008, 09:22 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Welcome to our recovery community

Do you have a plan to quit drinking?
Old 08-23-2008, 09:26 AM
  # 3 (permalink)