Notices

Help!!! When Is Too Much, Too Much?

Old 07-24-2008, 11:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Help!!! When Is Too Much, Too Much?

i am new here. so please be kind, thank you.

this is as much my problem as my dh's. i met dh in college, where he smoked pot alot. never much of big drinkers of alcohol, either of us. i enjoyed pot too. i knew this when i met him, when i fell in love wtih him, and when we married. i think i just assumed we'd grow up and out of doing it. i no longer enjoy it the way i once did. i am a nurse, so i was too paranoid about being "caught."

a few years ago, i hurt my back. it really was bad, and i had a lot of problems healing. during that time, i was prescribed different medications during my 5 months of intense pain (Percocet, Lortab, Darvocet, and Ultram). When the pain started letting up, i moved on to Ibuprofen, but after a few weeks of using it, it tore up my stomach, requiring frequent ER trips for rehydration. So back to the lighter meds (Ultram, Darvocet). My dh asked for a few when he was sore (he has a manual labor job), and i gave him some. Then i eventually ran out, and my physical therpist (a 2nd one) did wonders for me in the pain department, so i didn't need any more.

Somehow, dh came across a friend who had some oxy 30mg's. He got some. I would use 1/4=7.5mg on occassion, and i began to enjoy how they made me feel. I could get so much stuff done, and i loved the euphoria it produced. I know I was wrong to do that. But i never had problems with addiction, in my mind. I wouldn't take it often, and i never had problems physically when i stopped them. At first, it was kind of a recreational use for both of us. Then it became a multi time a day medication for dh when he had big projects and needed more energy. He got up to 45mg/day as far as i know. i know he is lying to me about this, and it's causing a HUGE rift between us. I would love to ignore this and not make fight after fight over this.