new here

Old 07-22-2008, 05:39 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new here

I am new to this. I have found myself in a situation that I dont know how to deal with. My husband and I have been together for 8 years and he is an addict. looking back on it I guess he always has been. coke was his first drug of choice. He stopped that only to go to a doctor and convince him that he had add and needed adderall. Me being stupid I guess assumed that this was ok cause his dr gave it to him. Months have gone by and he has gotten more grouchy and would stay up all night sometimes. I finnally confronted him a few months ago after counting his meds and they were all gone two weeks early. He swore to me he would take it as prescribed so blindly I agreed only to find once again meds were short again his script of 90 was down to 39 in five days. When I confronted him he said it was his med and he should be able to take it like he wanted. After him throwing something across the floor I made him leave. He has now decided that I was trying to control him and wants a divorce. I am devasteded. I think I did the right thing but its hard to convince myself of this as I sit here crying and missing him.

Does the pain ever go away?
Old 07-22-2008, 05:52 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Ann
Nature Girl

Welcome to SR Dreamer, I'm sorry for your pain but glad you found us.

Sadly, active addicts behave badly, they lie, turn things around to make it anyone's fault but theirs, and they simply get lost in their disease of addiction.

Whether to stay or try to mend things, or to leave, is entirely up to you. We can't decide that for you. Throwing things is not a good sign though and if abuse of any kind follows, it should not be tolerated because abuse escalates along with the drug use and it's a dangerous situation to remain in.