Notices

Need support outside of 12 step programs

Old 07-08-2008, 09:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
contemplating

Lightbulb Need support outside of 12 step programs

Hi

I am a professional in atlanta looking for some type of support or group...a way to meet others that do not drink...however I am not interested in a 12 step program or church....anyone happen to know of a support group other than the typical?

----trying to get better-----------
Old 07-09-2008, 02:30 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
"Meow. No, I am not a pup!

There is a group for that on here- Secular Connections
Old 07-09-2008, 04:13 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

dj, welcome

aunt dee, you around?

dj, theres a link to allternatives around...

shure someone will hook you up....

have to ask, how come no AA?

good wishes

rz
Old 07-09-2008, 04:26 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Here is a list of various recovery programs

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...-programs.html

And on SR...

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...step-recovery/

I do hope you will find one to fit your situation.

Last edited by CarolD; 07-09-2008 at 01:44 PM. Reason: Typo
Old 07-09-2008, 06:09 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

are you looking for social groups of non drinkers or for a recovery program other than aa?
Old 07-12-2008, 02:42 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
contemplating

I am trying to find a way to make friends that dont spend all their time in bars.......i know im not the only one in atlanta...

Carol D

Thanks, and yes i am looking into your suggestions!
Old 07-12-2008, 08:02 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  

Look for a club to join...like gardening or photography...or something requiring more brain function than drinking allows...like bridge or ballroom dancing.

There are lots of people out there not drinking...I have to find the groups of people with similar interests to mine to hang with instead of bars.

Hanggliding club...scuba classes...endless choices
Old 07-13-2008, 12:22 AM
  # 8 (permalink)