Notices

I'm trying this again

Old 06-19-2008, 11:37 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
I got nothin'

I'm trying this again

...I'm an idiot. I tried posting a message a few days ago but couldn't get it to work.

I began drinking a lot in college to deal with stress (anxiety!) and to go to sleep after a long day. It started out as a few drinks every night and progressed to 5-6 or more. I've been drinking now for about 5 to 6 years (I'm not really sure when I began having a "problem"...besides, time seems to run together for me...).

In November of 2007 I began getting premature heartbeats frequently enough to alarm me. I want to assure everyone that I'm not posting my health problems in order to get or give medical advice. I just feel really alone when it comes to this stuff. I've done extensive searching on the net and can find no support on this subject. I'm scared because I'm starting to have physical problems. Sadly enough, even that has not been enough to stop me from drinking.

I've been seeing a doctor (and yes, I was very honest about my drinking). A resting EKG was done and it appears to be OK (according to that I do not have an enlarged heart). The blood work came back and mostly everything is good. As of right now, the premature beats are being treated as "anxiety related". I go back in six months.

I quit back in January (2008) with little "slips" about every month or so, but during the last few weeks I'm pretty much going full swing again. I wish I could just say quit it and mean it. I probably should be on meds specifically for anxiety/depression, but the doctor probably won't prescribe them because I obviously have a propensity for abusing substances. I think the biggest reason I began to drink so much was not because it was fun (just an added bonus), but because I needed to self-medicate. The problem with that is alcohol inevitably makes it worse and thus begins the vicious cycle.