Fear and helping

Old 06-17-2008, 12:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Fear and helping

I just did something that is now causing me an enormous amount of anxiety. While reading our local community paper, there was an article about a newly formed group of concerned parents and law enforcement officers who are trying to address the growing use of drugs and alcohol by minors in our community. They provided the email address of the officer who is heading this group.

Well, I emailed her and expressed my desire to "give back" by participating with this group even though I no longer have children in our school district.

The anxiety is caused by the following:

- I am exposing myself as the mother of a recovering drug user and alcoholic.

- I am a business owner in our community.

- I am concerned about "what if it gets back to my son--how will he react".

- I'm not sure that I can talk openly about this issue without busting out in tears.

The email has been sent. I can't retract it but I'm now wishing I could. I'm afraid. I'm not really use to that emotion. I'm literally shaking and wondering "what the he77 have I done!"

Has anyone else out there participated in a community group of this type? I feel like I've opened Pandora's Box and I want to slam the lid back down.

Crap.
Old 06-17-2008, 03:05 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

To be honest i think that it is brilliant idea. It will show that the problem is real, and that it can happen to anybody. And who knows it might be beneficial to you by speaking out.

If i was asked by anyone to talk about my experience with alcoholism i would. I have infact spoken to two work collegues who have ah about my experiences, and hopefully the little knowledge that i have has been a little help for them.

Dont be afraid, you'll be fine

Mair
Old 06-17-2008, 03:34 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I think that is a courageous idea, and I think if it gets out it will help, not hurt, you and your business (not that you should advertise it).