Notices

The pain I cause her...

Old 06-14-2008, 03:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy The pain I cause her...

For the 3rd night in a row I have really hurt my girlfriend's feelings by concocting grand lies explaining why I can't see her. All so I can drink by myself. I have this sweet girl who's never harmed a fly, who only wants to love me and me to love her, and I almost always pull out all the stops to put as much space between us so I can get busy drinking myself into a stupor every night.

I came to learn my true nature some time ago but what right did I ever have inflicting myself -this- on her? I want to love her; my rational mind knows that she could be the best thing that's ever happend to me, but my drink demon tells me she is just an obstacle between it and me and is always finding new ways to hurt this lovely, sweet woman.

I am just beginning to take the first steps in confronting what I have to do, but it's nights like these, so guilt-ridden and miserable... I feel so worthless.

I'm sorry, but now I've found this site it feels like this is the only place I can be honest and vent myself
Old 06-14-2008, 03:48 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
RIP Sweet Suki

You still want the drink more than you want her. It's okay...it's not at all unusual. You are fighting with your own mind. Hope you figure it out. I understand what you are going through because I've been there myself. (((HUGS)))
Old 06-14-2008, 03:55 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks, Suki. Kind of you to say so. I know I'm not a bad person, but I do bad things to others for the sake of drinking. I know that's the alcoholic's creed, but it doesn' make it less painful to realise. Really, what more reason do I need to quit?

All the best, pal.
x
Old 06-14-2008, 03:58 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Why not tell her the truth?

Be a stand up guy
and stop lying.

Hope you can quit drinking soon.
It's such a hard way to live.
Old 06-14-2008, 03:59 PM
  # 5 (permalink)