I Never Used to Feel This Way

Old 06-07-2008, 10:13 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I Never Used to Feel This Way

I know I haven't posted here in awhile, but things are becoming a little overwhelming, and I thought this place might be a good refuge again. Hope no one minds.

In case anyone's curious, my background is mainly explained in my other post entitled "Just an Expression," but in a nutshell, I'm an 18 year old college student home for the summer dealing with alcholoic parents, mainly my mom.

So my mom is having major foot surgery and she's very worried about it. She'll be off work for 6 weeks (I bet she stops taking pain pills after the first 4 days to get a fix of alcohol). Her mom, my grandma, has had surgery after surgery and so many complications for the last ten years. Just a few minutes ago, practically right after I get off from work, my mom turns to me and says "Do you realize that I'm having surgery soon? Do you realize my mom is in a bad state?" And she said it in such a cruel way, in a way implying that I could care less and that I was a horrible person. Even though she's having surgery, I can't help but be bitchy towards a comment like that. A few seconds latter she says "I don't think you really care about me." Ok... I do care and I have asked her about it, but the thing is... I'm working at Sonic from 11-4 (9-4 on weekends) five days a week, babysitting the other two days a week, and working at another restraunt 5-6 nights a week. I'm never home, I go straight to bed and wake up early in the morning. I don't have time to sit and ask her a lot of questions--I never even see her! I know I should be concerned about her surgery, and I am, but she was trying to make me feel guilty and there's no excuse for behavior like that. I told her she was trying to make me feel guilty, that I have too much going on, that I couldn't deal with her. I left the room and came to this site. My brother followed me (he witnessed this) and got my spirits up a bit.