New Here - Divorcing Sadness

Old 05-27-2008, 09:25 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New Here - Divorcing Sadness

Hello,
This is my first time here. My alcoholic husband started going to AA 3 weeks ago and has filed for divorce and is in an affair with another woman. My problem is that my head knows the divorce is probably for the best but my heart can't quite handle the pain, sadness and rejection. It seems nearly unbearable. I've had to move out, he's filed the papers, and I'm stuck in perpetual sadness. Currently, I feel that I will never get out of this sadness I'm living in. I'm grabbing onto any hope for healing that I can. I would appreciate any encouragement or advice in how to move forward. I ask anyone who can give me advice to please do so. The divorce will go through, but I need to hear from people who really do get true happiness when they thought they wouldn't. I guess that I need to know that there is life after my unwanted divorce and that I will be happy again.
Old 05-27-2008, 09:36 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome. I think you can find a great deal of support and informaiton in here. You may also want to consider going to AlAnon. The one thing that can help the msot is information about how alcoholism has affected you and what you can do about it. Individual therapy can also help, especially dealing with the pain and rejection you feel from his infidelity.

Yes, you can find happiness outside of your marriage. You may find that being out of the madness that is alcoholism life is better than you expect.
Old 05-27-2008, 10:36 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I am so sorry that you are in such pain. You are going through a grieving process and it will take time......no one can tell you how long......but it will get better.