Notices

Video Game Addiction

Old 05-22-2008, 09:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Video Game Addiction

This is my first time here, I have been looking for help all over the web and a google search brought me here.

The problem I have been having with my boyfriend I have previsouly thought was just a relationship problem, but by researching online I have found that there could be a lot more to it.

He is completely addicted to the online game World of Warcraft. My boyfriend and I have been living together for almost a year, and this is tearing us apart. He is in his mid-twenties and plays the game everyday for at least 6 hours a day. In the middle of April he was injured at work requiring surgery and two months off work. In that time he has been stuck at home and he plays all day. I am not sure when he starts as I leave for work in the morning, but I get home at 5:00pm and he is playing, and he keeps playing to 4:00am most nights.

Our relationship is suffering because I am completely ignored by him. We don't do anything together, we don't even talk because he is so addicted. He gets angry at me when I pull him away from the game. Even though he is not working and is at home all day, I go to school and work, and then I go to my soccer practice or the gym. When I get home it is up to me to clean the house, buy groceries, do the laundry, and cook the meals. He won't even eat a meal with me, he takes his food to the computer so he doesn't miss a minute of gaming.

Realistically, I have had enough and the relationship is ending. It's rough because I do love him, and I know I would stay with him if he cut back on game time. The only thing I can find for treatment online is options for parents to use on their children. I'm not his mother and I can't punish him by taking his games away. If I found help for him, I know he wouldn't take it because he doesn't relaize his problem. Is there anything I can do other than leave?
Old 05-22-2008, 11:19 PM
  # 2 (permalink)