Hello, introducing myself and asking for help

Old 05-21-2008, 01:44 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello, introducing myself and asking for help

Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to all this so sorry if I don't know some of the terminology etc. I am 27 and I'm from the UK.

I have a friend (he is 29) who I have known for many years, we are pretty close although he's never been the type to open up. For years he's loved having a drink on a night out but for the last couple of years he's been drinking way too much. I know he has had problems with depression and anxiety that he was getting drugs and counselling for it but he doesn't talk about it much so I don't know whether this is ongoing.

For a while now me and some of my other friends have been worried about him and tried talking to him and for a while he seemed to get better but now he's drinking more than ever. I spoke to him the other day and he told me he'd drunk 2 bottles of tequila on a night out. Because he does it socially he doesn't seem to think it's a problem.

Until now I've tried not to nag him too much about it because I didn't want him to push me away but I've got to the point now where I don't care if he hates me, I just don't want him to die. I've been considering talking to his big brother and his parents about it or maybe setting up one of those intervention things. I don't really know what to do now and I would love some advice from someone who has been in the same situation.

Thanks in advance for your advice
Old 05-21-2008, 02:44 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hiya Sweetnitanitro

I'm from the UK too.

I'm still a newbie here but what I have learned is that ultimately it is up to him to help himself. No one else can do it for him.

It sounds harsh, I originally came here to ask for help on behalf of my boyf (now ex). His drinking had gotten out of control. It also made him abusive towards me. The advice I got was - he needs to help himself. I thought "Huh, great, thanks for the advice".