Trying to help a Friend

Old 05-14-2008, 06:58 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Living one day at a time

Question Trying to help a Friend

Well, I am new to this but am trying to find out a way to help a sweet guy that is dealing with addiction issuses. He is in a treatment center now, but I want to be supportive of him in there and when he gets out. He is going thru a divorce and his wife is not helping the situation; had an affair, hangs up on him, won't let him talk to his kids, says he can be replaced...etc. I just want him to know how great he is and that I will be there for him no matter what. How can I do this without seeming overbearing?
Old 05-14-2008, 09:23 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I had to step away about ten times before deciding to respond.

If you really want to be his friend, encourage his recovery and sobriety but don't be an enabler and stay out of his private life. Regardless of what he's said, you only have half the story and it comes from an addict. Do yourself a big favor and read the sticky called What Addicts Do.

His counselors and group can help him tackle his personal and private issues. If he brings it up, you might want to suggest he talks to them because you're out of your league.
Old 05-14-2008, 09:41 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Just plainly tired

You could just be a friend... a person whose there to hear him talk when he needs it. Dont fall into the trap of enabling him.

But as for his wife you dont know what she has been through entirely to judge her. I know from my experience with my boyfriend of four years... I know I told him he could be replace because of all the pain I suffered from his addiction. The same way addiction changes the addict it changes the spouse too. She has probably has been through so much turmoil with him that she cant possibly be able to support him.
Old 05-14-2008, 10:05 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Living one day at a time