My sister

Old 05-06-2008, 02:55 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My sister

I've been away for awhile. I've been avoiding exabf, and chewing on why I got where I was. My question for anyone that feels like sharing.... Have any of you found that you think you come here for one reason, and others seem to pop out of the woodwork? I thought I was here because of the one and only addict in my life... then I start to thinking... My sister... eating disordered, cutter, abuses gravol (may not seem like a big deal, but it does cause me some concern) and she is married. They were married about a year and a half, almost two before he started using. He's a coke head and she's starting to get things in place to leave him. She says... but I think... "we'll see". I don't get my hopes up anymore. I've offered my home and told her I can support her until she finds new work. And this is the kicker... she's a social worker. A crisis counselor by trade and actually very good at her job and very well respected. No one has any idea. They have no idea her marriage is in shambles, although they believe she has battled with and beaten an eating disorder.... people so believe what they want to believe. They have no idea she's a cutter... although as her marriage gets worse she's been getting sloppy and someone will figure it out soon.

So I'm a 30 year old woman that thought exabf was the one and only addict in my life and while reading Co-dependant no more... (cliche perhaps but it works) I realized that more scenarios reminded me of my relationship with my little sister than him. I've been much harder on him that I am on her. Have any of you felt like total idiots for not seeing the elephant in the room sooner? Thats what I really want to know.
Old 05-06-2008, 03:04 PM
  # 2 (permalink)