Notices

New and ready for sobriety

Old 03-29-2008, 07:35 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New and ready for sobriety

Hello there. I just found this site and it looks great, congratulations to the administrator/s.
I have been misusing alcohol for around 8 years and have tried many different methods of quitting, obviously non of them have worked. This is mainly as i haven't put my faith in some of these methods. I do however believe in a cognitive behavioural approach, but again this hasn't worked. I have been suffering from depression for longer than i have been a problem drinker and yesterday i was given a higher dose of the medication i am on, so it is extremely important that i quit alcohol ASAP, hopefully today.
Can i ask, of all the threads on this site, where is the best place to set up my own sobriety diary?
Thanks for reading
Greg
Old 03-29-2008, 07:51 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hey Greg, welcome to SR. You are right this site is awsome full of some great caring people. Glad you found us. Keep us posted on your progress. I too suffer from depression. I used to use alcohol to self medicate. Which would not have been too bad if it were not for the fact that I'm an alcoholic. Because of this fact once alcohol enters me I lose any ability to control what happens next. The only solutioin for me is no alcohol at all. If you are an alcoholic you should be able to relate. Millions of alcoholics have been able to achieve sobriety, you can be part of that group if you want it bad enough.
Dan
Old 03-29-2008, 07:51 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Arrow

hi greg- im new too, not to attempting sobriety (been at that for 6 months or so) but to the forum. so welcome from one newbie to another.
I fell off the wagon again this week but generelly my periods of abstinence are now longer than my periods of drunkeness- id just prefer it if i could find a way of not drinking at all- ever.