I just found out my mother is an alcoholic and i am new to this

Old 03-03-2008, 08:21 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I just found out my mother is an alcoholic and i am new to this

i just wanted to know if there was anyone out there like me... I am 33 years old, my father is a physician and my parents also own a winery. My mother has had some health issues over the years such as sine surgery and debilitating arthritis. recently we have had scares wondering if she was having strokes. She's been passing out, and not lucid at times. We have done may tests. Today i took her in to the dr and for an mri after having her at the er last night for confusion and over tired. She has slept basically the last 3 days. does not want to wake up and complains of being so tired. We found out tonight that she is in fact an alcoholic. no shes not drinking the wine but rather drinking scotch.while i am overjoyed that she does not have a brain tumor which is what i expected, i was floored when my father told me tonight. this came out of nowhere. I guess this explains all of her sleep walking??
im just kind if in shock right now and in a haze and felt like doing some research on this.
all i wanted to do was cry but we were in a resteraunt after leaving the hospital when they told me. i felt like i had to protect her like she was a small child.
any suggestions?
Old 03-03-2008, 08:50 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

The first suggestion I would have for you is that you take some time and read the 'sticky' posts at the top of this forum.

The feeling like you needed to protect her is a classic trait of being an Adult Child of Alcoholic(s)/Addict(s).

My second suggestion is that you let us know what's going through your head and ask questions about it. There are many people here who have a lot of recovery under their belts and can help guide you or offer you insights into what you may be going through.