My Dad

Old 02-18-2008, 12:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My Dad

Hi everyone,
I'm new to this and I'm dealing with a lot. I lost my father two weeks ago and I'm completely heartbroken. He was an alcoholic for a very long time but he was young, only 60. He was a wonderful man and I loved him so much. We had a great relationship and adored each other. He progressively got worse over the past few months and wouldn't seek any help. The guilt of not doing or saying the right things is unbearable right now. To imagine the pain he was in is heartbreaking to me. I miss him so bad and it really hurts.
Old 02-18-2008, 12:35 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Progress Not Perfection

Welcome Dalya...what a beautiful name!

I am so sorry for your recent loss of your dad.

I have lost my dad also.

It is not your fault that your dad didn't seek help. My dad refused help also.

Keep coming back and sharing with us.
Old 02-18-2008, 03:14 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi Dalya,

Welcome to this place ---- I'm so sorry for your loss and so sorry you're in pain.

I think that all of us, at one time or another, have thought that there was some magical combination of words we could say that would make an alcoholic seek help.

All of us.

Unfortunately, there just isn't. This really was a choice that your father made, not to seek help, and to keep on drinking. I know that doesn't change the fact that he is not there for you any more, but I see in you the signs of misdirected guilt that we all have here........what should I have done differently? How did I screw up? Why didn't I (insert magic spell here).

Grieve your father's choices, for they're sad ones. But don't blame yourself. There is nothing, nothing, nothing you could've done that would have convinced an active alcoholic to stop drinking against his will.

Hugs to you,
GL
Old 02-18-2008, 03:32 PM
  # 4 (permalink)