Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

What does a supportive spouse look like during early recovery?

Notices

What does a supportive spouse look like during early recovery?

Old 02-16-2008, 04:54 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
mle-sober

Question What does a supportive spouse look like during early recovery?

I've had 2 weeks sober and I know he has a right not to trust me and to be angry - I was a secret drinker and lied to him about it for years. But I'm in a treatment program and going to AA. It's my first time to get sober ever. I'm trying so hard. He says he's supportive but I don't feel like he is at all. Just for fun, what would a supportive spouse do and say? What would it look like?
Old 02-16-2008, 05:04 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
29a
God is my benzo

I have no idea. The spouse of a drunk has been through the ringer. My marriage did not survive it. We cannot expect them to just be ok over night. It takes time. We have to prove that we can be sober, and show them by example that things are going to be different and stay different.
You should check out for the wives, and the family afterwords in the big book.
Also see if he would be willing to check out alanon.
Old 02-16-2008, 05:09 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I think that depends entirely on you and your spouse. I was not a secret drinker, my husband knew how much I was drinking, but neither of us realized how bad it was hurting me until I stopped. (he is a normal drinker).

You say it doesn't feel like he is being supportive. What is it that you need him to do or say? It seems like you need to express to him exactly what you need, and then ask him to tell you if your needs seem realistic to him (ie- if you have lied for years, you can't expect complete trust overnight) and if they aren't realistic this minute, is he willing to work towards it?