Notices

Hello Everyone New to this...

Old 01-25-2008, 11:14 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello Everyone New to this...

Hi I am new to this. Kind of confused. lol I have always been a drinker. Hard liquor. Never developed a taste for beer. It always seemed to make me feel bloated. I have been drinking every since I was 16 y/o. I am now 35. I am kind of scared because I can't imagine having a life without liquor. i am scared because all my relationships and friendships have always been centered around liquor. I Know I do not want this. I do Live performances at clubs and somtimes I don't even drink but alot of the times I do. I have even missed work many times in the past because I was hung over. I may not drink everyday but when I do I somtimes binge. I don't have liquor at my house but I go out and can drink people to the floor. I honestly do not want to live like that or be like that. Not anymore. I need to know what are the alternatives to drinking and socializing in a place where there will be liquor?

Just had to get that off my chest. All my freinds drink and so I can't really talk to them about it.

Event Horizon
Old 01-25-2008, 11:19 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hello Event Horizon,

I think you'll like it here.

I'm on day 5, so by far not an xpert.

In the past few days though, I've been doing the same thing... trying to occupy my time...

Right now, for me, it's hanging around this board a lot, ... and going to a meeting. Mind you, I've only hit two, but both were in lieu of drinking... and a lot better place to be. When the meetings were over I felt better, rather than worse as I usually do after drinking..

Pray and stay... Have you ever tried a meeting? Thanks for being here...
Old 01-25-2008, 11:21 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,

I'm glad you have decided to change your life and begin recovery.