from dixie to those who kindly replied

Old 12-27-2007, 03:04 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

from dixie to those who kindly replied

friends,

I am not too good with the computer but I read all of your posts and greatly appreciated them. But as I consider your advice I still have a few questions.......
1. If I don't help with the outstanding bills his wife's paycheck will be garnished by the government. How is that fair to her? She is working as hard as she can and if I don't make some kind of payment that is exactly what is going to happen and she is already under enough stress. Her dad cannot help because he is on disability himself. Her mom has another child that is very ill with crone's (sp?) disease and all of her extra money goes to assist her with the cost of medication. So , how can I walk away and make this dil suffer even more stress?

2. My son was willing to go back to rehab. and this facility is a bare bones 12 step program. After a period of adjustment he will be rated and sent out to work at $7.00 an hour and $3.50 of that amount goes to the church. So I guess i am saying this is not a "cushy" place. He will work. It is a solid 12 step program and the only place that had availability at the time and there was one bed only..self -pay. So rather than let him go on a binge and all the signs were there that he was headed for that (and the counselors agreed too) and since he voluntarily wanted to go we made the decision to pay. I couldn't see it getting any worse than him willingly sitting 5 hours in a crack house......so I guess it was a judgement call.

3. His basic needs are being taken care of........a bed, food, clothes....so as trivial as it sounds do I send the $$$ for cigarettes? I know it is a lame question but I want to know how to respond to the counselor who said it was hard to beat two addictions at once so please send him some cigarettes.