A newbie here

Old 12-26-2007, 09:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A newbie here

I wrote an introduction under in the New to Recovery section, I was directed to this section of the forums as a parent of an addict. I tried to post the link to my Intro, but I have not made 15 posts yet, so the website will not allow it so I cut and pasted it at the bottom of this post.

I've been reading many posts and have found so many helpful ones, often as I read though, I begin to feel overwhelmed at how much I need to learn, understand, work on...but over all, I'm glad I found you all.

We made reservations for my daughter to come home next week and we are waiting to hear from her to get the reservation information. To be honest, it has been nice having her so far away in Alaska...but we have slipped a few times and given in to sending money for temporary fixes to her situation. The airline ticket we purchased on Monday is non-refundable, if she does not call to get the information re: the flight and doesn't get there to used it, that will be the last straw for us. She will be on her own after that.

Hubby and I have been talking about what we might expect once she arrives home...

We are not naive enough to think that she is going to be our little girl after a year in Alaska living however she was living... But we also do have some feeling of 'guarded optimism'. We have talked about the fact that this is the last time we are going to involve ourselves in her issues, if this doesn't work out, she will not be welcome to stay here any longer, but my question is: if it comes to that, how do you kick your addicted child out when they have no car, job, money or place to go? Do you take them to shelter and drop them off? I'm not asking this as a philosophical question, I really wonder what steps do you take?