Notices

Anticipation (These are the good old days)

Old 12-25-2007, 09:10 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Old & Sober Member of AA

Anticipation (These are the good old days)

Hevyn has a thread titled "The Way We Were", in which we looked back to Christmases Past and compared them to the way Christmas is this year. It gave me an idea for a thread based on another great song (I've take some small liberties with the lyrics to fit the occasion):

We can never know about the days to come
But we think about them anyway;
And I wonder if I'm really happy now
Or just chasin' after some finer day

Anticipation, anticipation
Is makin' me late
Is keepin' me waitin'

And I tell you how good it feels to be sober,
And how right to be a part of this community.
But I rehearsed those lines just late last night,
When I was thinkin' about how this holiday might be.

Anticipation, anticipation
Is makin' me late
Is keepin' me waitin'

And tomorrow we might not be together;
I'm no prophet and I don't know nature's ways.
So I'll try and see into your eyes right now;
And stay right here 'cause these are the good old days.

(These are the good old days)
And stay right here 'cause these are the good old days
(These are..the good old days)

So, from now on, when I'm tempted to think back to "The Way We Were", I'll remind myself that "These Are The Good Old Days!"
Old 12-26-2007, 07:14 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Old & Sober Member of AA

Goodness...of the 36 folks who peeped at this thread, not one had anything to add?

What is your personal interpretation of Carley Simon's song? To me, she seems to be saying that we place too much importance on the "outcome" (anticipation), and maybe forget that "the joy is in the journey"...and, when we look back to "the good old days", we lose sight of how much we have to be grateful for, right here and now ('cause these are the good old days). Waddaya think?
Old 12-26-2007, 07:34 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Jersey,