Notices

Rough Evening

Old 12-17-2007, 08:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Rough Evening

I'm a student working on a very demanding post-graduate degree. I've got 56 days of sobriety and I'm "dealing" as best as I can. It's really hard to not escape from problems.

I have a long term Girlfriend and our 2 1/2 year old daughter at home. We are poor. I Just found out that we probably won't be getting Health Insurance from the state for our daughter. I think it's because our situation is atypical and the people working at the office don't know how to handle our application. (eg A requirement is that I'm supposed to file for unemployment if I'm not working. I've been in school for 3 years w/o a job and the state where I had the job (not the state I live in now) doesn't allow filing for unemployment if you've been out of work for more than 2 years, and our case worker says "it's ridiculous" and she "has to have proof of unemployment", bureaucracy at it's best).

I also just got a scathingly honest review from one of my professional preceptors about how I'm not "compulsive" enough. As in, I'm not very outspoken, I have to be encouraged to speak up. I don't share the same excitement about the field of study that other students do. He's probably right.

I'm also overweight and depressed, and I'm poor.....I'm getting all my whining in now since I haven't whined in years.
Old 12-17-2007, 08:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

56 Days!! Fantastic!

56 days is fantastic Justin. You are in a very tough stage of your life. Let's just say that you have more than your share of work to do! This may be your bottom. The good news is that you can start your way up and out if you really want it. You are not alone!

That sounds dumb and trite, I know, but just don't drink! Do you have a home group? Do you have a sponsor? I suggest that you avail yourself of these precious resources asap.