Notices

Suggestions on inability to work related to PTSD

Old 12-13-2007, 01:34 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Life the gift of recovery!

Suggestions on inability to work related to PTSD

I have been in therapy for my PTSD for over 3 years now. I knew I had depression prior to getting sober and originally sought treatment for that. During that treatment the PTSD was identified. Related to my childhood as well as the things I have seen and had to deal with while working as a paramedic. I have been a nurse for 20 years and a paramedic for 12 years. I still have a current nursing license. My problem is I have lost 2 jobs related to my reactions to male bosses due to my PTSD. I am now at a point where I can not even get out the door to go to job interviews. Have acute anxiety when trying to call or apply for jobs. I have been out of work for a little over a year now. I do have klonopin for anxiety but hate to take it too frequently as it is a highly addictive medication. Even when I do take the klonopin it does not do much to change my ability to deal with the job issue. I have difficulty sleeping and nightmares when I do allow myself to sleep. I started school in hopes that finding a different line of work would help with the PTSD but even with that I have trouble many days just getting out the door to go to class. I can have my bag on my shoulder, keys in hand and try and open the door, wind up in an acute anxiety attack and not be able to get past the door. Missing class has affected my grades. I have tried to take just simple jobs, like pumping gas but can not even seem to deal with the hiring process on them either. I have had jobs just handed to me that I could not follow through on and take. I don't know what to do anymore. I am changing therapists because my current one has too much personal stuff going on right now to see me as frequently as she feels I need. Also the PTSD/anxiety reaction has gotten substantially worse over the past year. I thought about applying fo