How to make deep connections?

Old 12-10-2007, 11:50 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How to make deep connections?

I am new to this idea of me being insane in some areas and needing to be restored to sanity. I have been reading, meditating and attending Alanon and everything makes sense to me. I recognize myself. Yesterday I was reading from “Codependents’ Guide to the Twelve Steps” by Melody Beattie and came across this:

“Living with insanity or allowing others to treat us badly, living life as victims, is insane. Living in denial, telling ourselves other people are fine – people who are abusing us and treating us poorly – telling ourselves that there is something wrong with us for not liking this abuse, is insane. Believing that we deserve so little from life is insane. Believing that we have to do it alone, whatever it is, is unnecessary.”

This sums up my life. But, the last sentence especially struck home. I have isolated myself in an insane way. I am fiercely independent and trust is a problem. My sober, AA attending mom died when I was 13 leaving me with 2 brothers and a father that emotionally and spiritually abandoned me and then I married an A. I parented myself and am a survivor. However, I now see that my survivor techniques haven’t worked well as an adult. I need to relearn so many things. Things that healthy people take for granted I have no clue about.

Which leads me to this: I want to have a rich life full of dear friends, but I don’t know how to turn an acquaintance into a friend. I have many acquaintances, and I have no problem meeting and talking small talk with people. But anything beyond that I am at a loss and have no clue and don't have any real meaningful friendships. I am very lonely. I feel like a huge glass wall separates me from everyone else and have always felt this way and thought everyone else did too.

What do I need to do and learn to make deep friendships?
Old 12-10-2007, 12:04 PM
  # 2 (permalink)