Notices

Trying...need people to talk to

Old 12-10-2007, 06:40 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Trying...need people to talk to

I never thought I would find an online forum to be so helpful...but I do. And rather than question everything and over analyze I'm just going to put some stuff out there...I've been drinking and drugging heavily for close to 25 years...I've had as long as 18 mos. sober....many, many periods of several momths, several weeks, days at time, etc. But now I'm scared...scared for the first time in my life,really...the drug thing is no longer an issue but the drinking has escalated to terrible proportions....I'm drinking somewhere in the vicinity of 2+ pints every time I drink...and drinking almost every night. Which, BTW, I keep hidden from my family...so its sneaking around, excuses to leave the house, the whole bit....I also do horrendous things and take terrible risks..like drive my wife and kids around drunk...angry outbursts...or sleep all day because I'm "tired" and leave my wife with our 4 kids....I hate myself when I do these things....and the only time bad things happen at my house is when I'm drunk...period. Life is good and blessed when I'm sober, it really is.....I have no glaring reasons to drink...in fact, I have every reason not to drink...yet I do. Recently I stayed sober for 9 days...drank 4....sober for 4....and then went crazy this past weekend....ungodly amounts....driving drunk with kids in the car....I mean, thats just insane and selfish and irresponsible...I have everything to lose....the guilt I carry around is overwhelming...the anxiety the depression...the hopeless feeling of knowing, KNOWING, I will drink again depsite all my best intentions and horrible physical side-effects...at this point the guilt and shame alone keep me in that mental place of pain where drinking becomes an option again.....I need to let go...I need to do something
Old 12-10-2007, 07:18 AM
  # 2 (permalink)