Notices

Newbie here, looking for support buddy

Old 11-11-2007, 07:52 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie here, looking for support buddy

Hiya, Group. I was glad to see the SoberRecovery website - it was exactly what I am looking for. I am a very public business owner and wanted to keep my identity to a minimum.

I drink. And when I drink, i keep drinking. My problem is two-fold - its now affecting my business and my reputation as a community leader. I am on the lookout for a support buddy or sponsor of some type to keep my drinking under control. Someone to talk to. I feel as though I cannot even divulge my issues to my therapist - it's completely embarassing and degrading. This is not me.

Is there anyone out there to help? Location is no matter since I'll be discussing things online only.

I really appreciate it - this seems like a reallly nice group.

- Rafterman
Old 11-11-2007, 08:07 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
let it grow!

nice to meet you, rafterman. lots of support here - others will be along shortly to say hi!

keep reaching out, k
Old 11-11-2007, 08:08 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Welcome to SR!

You just found a deep pool of information and support
Please ask questions...you are not alone with your situation.

I am an alcoholic in AA recovery.
The best suggestion I have for you

Please go to our Alcoholism Forum and read
2 nd sticky post.

Glad you are here with us...we do understand.

PS....I moved your post from Storeis
and you can find it in Alcoholism....

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...r-october.html

Last edited by CarolD; 11-11-2007 at 08:31 AM. Reason: PS...
Old 11-11-2007, 08:09 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

This board is already wonderful. "parentrecovers" replied in seconds. Now I know why people keep returning here.

Thanks guys. I want to reach out until my arms hurt.
Old 11-11-2007, 08:14 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Rafterman,

Welcome and yes, we really do understand.