Don't really know where to start!

Old 10-17-2007, 06:48 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Don't really know where to start!

Hello all....

I apologize right off the bat here...I'm new to this whole thing! I hope I'm doing this correctly!

My hubby is the addict...

Today he goes for his second individual counseling session for his second round of addiction help!

I'm am crazy nervous....I really need him to have a good connection with this guy! I really think he is READY THIS TIME to get help! I'm so excited, but...also, no longer niave...

I have a million questions and thoughts floating around in my head....I don't know what to do...is this the right place to get help for me? Everyone keeps telling me I need to get some help this time. The first time around I was just so, I don't even know what...I think I just felt so bad for him, addiction was something my family NEVER had to deal with...I think I just couldn't believe it was happnening...I had to HIDE it...No one must know...I'm sure you all know what I'm talking about....

Ok...I think I'm gonna sign off now...looking for some help!

G.
Old 10-17-2007, 06:58 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
On a tear

This IS the right place. There is much to learn, and a bunch of us together learning about all the different facets of addiction.

Perhaps you could start with the "sticky" posts at the top of this forum? Some excellent reading includes: "Codependent No More" by Melodie Beattie, also "Under the Influence" by Milam and Ketchum.

Open AA meetings helped me to have hope when things seemed the most hopeless. It was good for me to hear the stories of recovery, especially when the ones I loved were not working recovery themselves.

I also listened to AA and Alanon "speaker tapes" and cds. These are available online, just type AA speaker tape into a good search engine like Google. I played them in the car when I drove around.