Taking care of ourselves

Old 09-24-2007, 07:14 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Taking care of ourselves

I haven't posted on this forum in awhile, but I had sort of a major revelation this past week and wanted to share. A brief summary of my story...grew up oldest of 5 kids, dad was alcoholic, now dating a recovering alcoholic. I've been attending Al Anon for a few years, but mostly thinking about my own recovery in the context of my relationship with my boyfriend. Then, this summer, I had several family disasters happen: my little sister went into rehab after revealing she drank 30 beers a day, purges ten times and day and engages in self-injurious behavior. Getting her there was tough, because she was basically in the midst of a psychotic break and acting like she was possessed by Satan. Next my mom was in a car accident, was black and blue, had a big swollen head and couldn't move for several weeks. All this after my boyfriend lost his job, was diagnosed bipolar, declared bankruptcy and foreclosed on his house which we were living in. What a summer, right? And what did I do? I took care of everyone. Signed the affadavit to have my sister committed, found a place for her to go to rehab, found us a new house, took care of my mom while she was incapacitated and let her sleep in my bed, tried to help my boyfriend find a job. To top it all off, the sister who was in rehab was dropped off on my doorstep by another family-member who couldn't deal with her because she was suicidal, so now she's at my house too!

Well, last week, I started getting really pi$$ed off. Really, really angry. I was doing all these things for other people and wasn't even getting a "thank you" in return. I decided there must be a reason I was getting treated like crap and started doing research on roles in alcoholic families, and sure enough mine was the "hero." The hero rarely gets their needs met by others. Every one of my siblings filled a different role just perfectly.