Notices

Newbie here

Old 09-14-2007, 06:09 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie here

Good Morning all! I am new to this board and very excited to have found it. My name is Dawn and I have been sober for 3 months. My drunk log is long and painful, thankfully the person I hurt the most was me. I found in the beginning of this journey I tended to romance alcohol, as if it was a old friend...kwim? I have FINALLY accepted that I can NEVER drink again, and I am ok with it. I no longer feel sorry for myself and the fact I can't drink.... I drank enough in the last 10 years to last a life time! I attend AA, 90 meetings in 90 days. Last night another AA member said to me "MY God, You look like a shiny new penny." It hit me right then......Sobriety rocks!!! NOTHING will ever get better if I pick up just one drink. We all know the story...one is too many 70 is not enough. I still have alot of work to do...I need to repair relationships, and forgive myself...BUT the only thing I need to do today is not drink! I am looking forward to getting to know the wonderful people on this board, I am excited about walking this road side by side with you all! Thanks for listening!
Old 09-14-2007, 06:12 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
let it grow!

it's so nice to hear your story, bugsworth. i love the "shiny penny" analogy. please stick around and keep posting. your experience, strength, and hope is SHINING!

blessings, k
Old 09-14-2007, 06:16 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
CindeRella is proof that a new pair of shoes can change your life!

Welcome to SR! Glad that you found us! I too love that "Shiny Penny" analogy! Keep shining!
Old 09-14-2007, 06:38 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome, Dawn! Well done on your sober time, and on seeing the promises begin to come true in your life! I'm so glad you found us.

Old 09-14-2007, 06:45 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Welcome to Sr...

Hi,

I love your positive feelings about sobriety...

You can do this!
Old 09-14-2007, 07:07 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Looking For Myself...Sober