Notices

13 steppers?

Old 08-06-2007, 12:53 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

13 steppers?

So I am new to all the lingo, but I met a few men today at my NA meeting that other women there described as "13 steppers."

I am assuming these are guys that see a new female come to the group and try to date her or take advantage of her in her recovery? Ugh if this is the case I am already disgusted a bit with a few members at my group. I have tried to really limit my interraction at the meetings to women but I went outside tonight to get some fresh air and felt "pranched" on a little bit by a few males there. I excused myself and went back inside because I felt like they were invading my privacy and asking too many questions.

My question is - is this normal? Or common? Should I look for a women only NA group? I realize I can't escape men in general, but should I have to worry about them trying to use my vulnerabilities against me in meetings?

I was also a little irritated with the multitude of people who came in and out of the entire meeting (making a lot of noise) to go outside and smoke. Even though I chose this meeting originally because it was a no smoking meeting. I don't see how anyone can absorb anything (or hear for that matter) with so much commotion going on. Do you think I might have just chosen a bad meeting tonight or is this the norm? I hope not!
Old 08-06-2007, 01:34 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
death before dishonor

yeah honestly you must be pretty hard up if your trying to pray on women in recovery because their vulnerable. Yo you got have some weak game if thats only place you can pick up women.
Old 08-06-2007, 02:45 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Unfortunately it is common. However most men don't do this. Even outside of AA there are men that prey on vulnerable and/or sick women. And newcomers are easy prey as they are much more vulnerable.