Did I make the right decision?(follow up of "what a mess"

Old 07-26-2007, 10:01 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Did I make the right decision?(follow up of "what a mess"

My husband just came home and barged in and said that he wanted to detox in his own home. I told him he could not stay here to do that. I told him that these kids have been through enough. I also told him that I am not a medical professional. I told him that I would take him to the hospital or detox where they can deal with it. He is staying at his parents and he said he can't detox there(I think he doesn't want to). Then he walked off and said: "the high bridge is looking better. Tell my kids I loved them". I called the police and told them what he said.

God, God, was I wrong? Tremendous amount of guilt right now.
Old 07-26-2007, 10:04 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
let it grow!

you did the right thing. i'm glad you are taking care of you and your kids. and i will pray that your husband is able to make the right decisions.

blessings, k
Old 07-26-2007, 10:04 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Its_me_jen

No, you're not wrong at all. You have to take care of you and your kids. Your H has to take care of himself and take responsibility for his own recovery.

As hard as it was, you did exactly the right thing in my opinion.
Old 07-26-2007, 10:05 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I could take someone back and they could still go jump off a bridge someday. I have NO CONTROL over someone else's choices. So I make choices that are right for me. Do you feel you did the right thing for you, and your children?
Old 07-26-2007, 10:06 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

You did the right thing for you and your children.

He might get 5150d. If so, he'll at least have medical supervision during de-tox.
Old 07-26-2007, 10:09 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  

You did what I would do in the same circumstance. I thnk you did exactly the right thing. {hugs}
Old 07-26-2007, 10:17 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  
o.0